Black forest – a 3C’s cake

Black forest cake

Black forest cake with 3C’s –  Creamy, Chocolatey, Cherry filled cake.

I always wondered why was it named so? Suppose we take a step back to the 18th century, way before this cakes was ever made… if I were to hear it for the first time. “The Black Forest Cake ” I would say that it sounds cold, dark and uncertain to me. Nothing like what it tastes. 🙂

Well, at least my version of the cake should not be named so, because I did not use the Schwarzwälder Kirsch cherry liquor, originally made at the black forests region in Germany. Just a kids-friendly version of cake, guess the sugar will keep them high and hyper for few hours. 

Oh! By the way…nothing against the cake’s name , I know we all love it the way it is. Here’s the recipe for 3C’s black forest cake.

Recipe

Chocolate cake

  • Flour – 1 and 1/4 cup
  • Sugar – 1 and 1/2 cup, 
  • Cocoa powder – 1/2 cup
  • Eggs – 3 whites, 3 yolks
  • Butter – 1/2 stick/cup
  • Vanilla extract – 1 t spoon
  • baking powder – 1 t spoon
  • Milk – 4 tablespoon
  • Salt – 1/4 t spoon

Cake assembly

  • Kirsch or cherry brandy – I used sugar syrup
  • Cherries for topping
  • Heavy whipping milk 
  • Slab of dark

Check out the slide show for step by step procedure of cake assembly

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

20 thoughts on “Black forest – a 3C’s cake

  1. That is not fair making me look at that cake when I can’t take a piece…you have made me want it. Do I really have to make it, I just want to eat it.
    Maybe I can get my daughter to make it for me!
    manonx

Thanks for stopping by Lucid Memoirs! Share your thoughts.

