Tour Activity Journal – Reflections

Life is an illusion, a mirror where you see in others who you really are. Sometime good, sometimes bad and the other time better than the reality itself. Quoting the words of a writer  “Obsessed by a fairy tale, we spend our lives searching for a magic door and a lost kingdom of peace.”  Who is to blame for this war between the reality and reflection? Who is to show me the way to peace!

Bad water, Death Valley National park

The place is just as deserted as the name itself. Unusual, landscapes, unexplained moving rock yet an amazing place to visit.  Bad water, or I would like to call it “The mirage”… had a trail that leads out to the salt flats. It is at 282 feet below sea level, it’s the lowest point in North America. 

Why do I find the reflection of this mountain more beautiful than the reality itself… 

Mono lake, California

A shallow alkaline and saline lake situated at the mono basin which has an ever-changing landscape with growing tufa and fauna.

View of the mono lake in winter shot by Kiran. It’s amazing how the landscape changes completely with changing seasons. I like to edit the photograph, changing the contrast and color. My husband shares his version of unedited, straight from the shot photographs. Visit his blog for Mono lake in summer

Yosemite National Park

What do I say about Yosemite! I guess it’s the place where we go to find our peace of mind. Its our temple, we worship the nature. My husband, being a photographer is a nature lover. I’ve been with him long enough to enjoy things that he like and vise versa. One of the things that we miss the most out here in the east coast, is the natural beauty the place has to offer. I believe I have talked enough about Yosemite in my post on the pencil sketch of Yosemite tunnel view.

Sharing the photos we clicked on our way to the curry village and Vernal fall mist trail hike.

Hope you enjoyed the natural beauty of the national parks in California and my attempt to capture reflection!

24 thoughts on “Tour Activity Journal – Reflections

  1. You tricked me into the post. I saw the title Taj Reflections and clicked anticipating Taj Mahal pictures instead found reflections of something else. 🙂 No complains though got more than what I bargained for .. awesome pictures of natural splendor!

      • You don’t have to change name just because of one uneducated random comment. Because next thing you’ll notice that I’ll post something about name Priya 🙂 If they would have asked me to pick a name I’d say JoTA Journal of Travel Activity!

  2. I love them! Especially the first two! I could look at them for a long time. The colours, the composition and the textures – amazingly beautiful!

  3. Loved these photos! I have been learning how to improve my photos lately – I wish I had one like that lone tree in Yosemite to symbolize winter – just gorgeous! (Coming from Studio JRU)

  4. These are quite some beautiful photographs. I think my favourites are the first one from Death Valley and the second one from Mono lake. I think you have been able to capture the beauty of the places and processed the photograph to bring out the best in them.

  5. Incredible photos!!!! I love the delicacy of the reflections against the earthy roughness of the rock! Have you ever been to Utah? Either Moab or Zion? My brother used to live in Salt Lake City for 8 years and we visited those locations. I fell in love. The west is such a beautiful landscape.

Thanks for stopping by Lucid Memoirs! Share your thoughts.

